quattroworld.com Forums: Looking to join the club and could use your advice!!!

quattroworld

D2 A8/S8 (1997 - 2003)
All messages | Search Forums | Return to D2 A8/S8 (1997 - 2003)
Looking to join the club and could use your advice!!!
Posted by: jmatt3685 (22816) on 2014-12-05 12:26:09

Share | Report
Hi there,

I know you guys have probably seem a million requests just like this one, but I'd really appreciate any help you can lend. I'm looking at buying a used 2001 A8. I'm a medical student in Kirksville, MO, and really looking for a nice winter car. My whole family drives Audi's, so it's something I've been raised on and am pretty familiar with. We even have a "guru" back in Ohio. I'm probably going to be moving back to the Akron/Canton area (where the guru is nearby) within the next year, so that's a big perk for me. This would be a second car, mainly for winter and longer trips as I drive a ratty hatchback normally-- I bought it when I was at Ft. Bragg and it never really snowed or got that cold there!!

Here's the car's story:
Owner owns a car dealership and took it in on trade. Really loved the car and drove it himself for a year. Then took a road trip to NM and back. On the way he got caught in a monsoon that was bad enough that his family had to pull over and stopped to get lunch. Got back home and the car was in limp mode. Had it towed to the dealership and the mechanic said the TCU got wet and the code is "failed communication with tcm." The car still runs and moves in forward and reverse. Looking at the pictures, everything else is immaculate (assuming I can trust the pictures).

Here's my story: